Vinetalkers: Riddle of the Wine Review

oenophilogical

The Riddle

I don’t know about you, but the first time I ever read an expert wine review, I was mystified.  Some of it I understood, certainly.  But the rest of it was like a riddle – a coded message full of strange words and hidden meanings.  Yet here’s the thing: no matter how opaque or mysterious they seemed, I wanted more.  I wanted to gain access to the information they held.  I wanted to crack the code and solve the mysteries within.  I still do.

Deciphering the Message

While I haven’t yet made a complete breakthrough on cracking the code, I have made some progress.  The first thing I had to come to terms with was the heavy use of foreign language in the reviews.  I was OK with that, actually.  I studied languages in school, so facing down a new foreign word can even be enjoyable to me. …

View original post 1,576 more words

Leave a Reply

