In praise of Bacchus

renenutet13

When SAHMellier announced that the theme for this month’s Monthly Wine Writing Challenge is “Devotion”, after searching for the link between “Grease” and wine (if any of the other participants have found one, I salute them), I decided to go in a different direction and write about the devotion shown to Bacchus, the god of wine by his followers, the Bacchantes.

I had a very hazy idea of what this devotion, demonstrated in the ritual of Bacchanal, involved.  I thought that perhaps it had something to do with consuming vast quantities of wine and waiting for divine inspiration/madness to strike.  While I had experienced the (temporary) belief that my amazing (for me) prowess in an office quiz was fuelled entirely by red wine, with hindsight I may have been wrong.  However, when I queried the wisdom of sitting the tasting section of a WSET exam before the written part, I…

View original post 721 more words

Leave a Reply

