MWWC #14: A Digestif Tradition (aka, someone please put out the fire in my esophagus) *

The Armchair Sommelier

MWWC“The human soul can always use a new tradition. Sometimes we require them.”  (Pat Conroy, The Lords of Discipline).

My husband’s grandfather lives in a small village in southern Bavaria.  After the Mr. Armchair Sommelier and I were married, we started making semi-regular trips there to visit him.  I’d been to Bavaria a few times as a kid (with my parents, who also have Bavarian roots), so I was already familiar with some of the more ubiquitous Bavarian traditions (sausage, beer, pretzels and lederhosen).

I will never forget the first time we visited Opa as a young, newly-married couple.  We landed in Munich at 7am, and by 9am, we were sitting in a restaurant eating boiled sausages (Weißwurst) and drinking Weißbier (something my stomach was woefully unprepared for at the equivalent of 3am EST).  We spent the rest of the day fighting jet lag and trying to keep our eyeballs open.  Later that…

View original post 821 more words

Leave a Reply

