When I Reach the Finish Line

the drunken cyclist

Gary Temple--one of the kindest souls I have ever met. Gary Temple–one of the kindest souls I have ever met.

Those of you who read every word of my blog (I am not sure if that person exists, but regardless…), know that I went back “home” this weekend for the memorial service of a very dear friend of mine. His name was Gary Temple, and I first met him when I was in his sixth grade classroom.

He started out as my teacher, then a father-figure, and eventually a dear friend. He died a few weeks ago and shortly afterwards I was asked if I wanted to speak at the memorial service. I do not know if there is anyone that ever wants to speak at a funeral, after all it means that the subject of the talk is no longer alive, but for me, I felt like I needed to speak.

I guess a part of me felt guilty…

View original post 673 more words

Leave a Reply

