My ‘Winestory’

Traveling Wine Chick

#MWWC27, Monthly Wine Writing Challenge 29 #MWWC27, Monthly Wine Writing Challenge 29

Facebook’s ‘On This Day’ reminded me that it was three years ago, December 3, 2013 that I accepted my first full-time job in the wine business at a winery in the Napa Valley. At the time, I was not-so-gainfully unemployed after eleven months of severance and part-time work. I had been offered the job before Thanksgiving and had said yes, but there were some final details to work out before it became official. When I knew on December 3, I was still unable to speak about it due to confidentiality.

I never imagined myself loving wine or even working with wine. I was a longtime college professor of French and Spanish who planned to retire from that position, even though the work had become increasingly frustrating as my responsibilities shifted from traditional classroom to more online teaching and committee work. Faculty had not had…

View original post 780 more words

Leave a Reply

